Saint Patrick School is located in the heart of Larkspur, California, a town that was settled in 1908. This historic location is nestled in a scenic valley dominated by lovely views of Mt. Tamalpais. Saint Patrick Parish was established in 1915, and was named in honor of Patrick King who had originally owned the land. The Parish quickly became an integral part of the Larkspur community. Early in 1954, Father Joseph Kenney, recognizing the spiritual and educational needs of this growing town, initiated a fundraising campaign for the construction of a parish school and convent. In September 1963, staffed by Dominican sisters from Adrian, Michigan, St. Patrick School opened its doors to 160 students. Archbishop McGucken blessed and dedicated both the new school and the convent on April 25, 1964.
In 1977, a lay staff replaced the Dominican Sisters. In 1981, the Parents Club funded the construction of three rooms under the school building, which now house the Kindergarten classrooms and school library. In 1982, morning and after-school care was added to meet the needs of working families, and in 2005, a dedicated science room was added to the building. Our campus continues to thrive through periodic facility upgrades and community funded improvements.