Saint Patrick School is located in the heart of Larkspur which was settled in 1908. This historic town is nestled in a scenic valley dominated by lovely views of Mt. Tamalpais. St. Patrick’s was named in honor of Patrick King, who had originally owned the town land. Saint Patrick Parish, which was established in 1915, quickly became an integral part of the Larkspur community. Early in 1954, Father Joseph Kenney, recognizing the spiritual and educational needs of this growing community, initiated a fundraising campaign for the construction of a parish school and a convent. In September 1963, staffed by Dominican sisters from Adrian, Michigan, St. Patrick School opened its doors to 160 students. Archbishop McGucken blessed and dedicated both the new school and the convent on April 25, 1964.
In 1977, a lay staff replaced the Dominican Sisters. In 1981, the Parents Club funded the construction of three rooms under the school building. These facilities housed the library and the new Kindergarten. In 1982, morning and after-school care was added to meet the needs of working families.
Over the years, St. Patrick School and Parish have been growing, changing, and adapting to meet the various needs of more than 700 families. Today, Saint Patrick Parish and School continue to thrive as spiritual and educational entities that serve parishioners throughout Marin County.